Tuesday, March 16, 2010

The Return of the Queen

I haven't updated this blog in awhile - a loooooong while! Frankly, I didn't really think it mattered. But recently a couple of people have commented on how this site has been useful to them AND I have used it as a reference point for several of my students.

So without further ado, I announce... "The Return of the Queen" who will again post "Royal Reads" for those on the quest for literary treasures - after all, this is The Kingdom of Books!

And since today the Queen returns, the theme for this post of Royal Reads will be... ROYALTY!


Fairy Tales
Type: Novel
Audience: YA

This fractured fairy tale - filled with adventure, suspense, magic, war, and romance - twists things up with a strong-willed, independent main character, Princess Benevolance (or Ben for short) who is not your ordinary princess. In fact, she is anything BUT ordinary, much to the dismay of the Queen, her aunt, who is charged with raising her after Ben's parents are killed on a royal outing. As war looms as a result of these deaths, Ben will be put to the test and must rise above her challenges if there is any hope to save her kingdom.


Fun Facts on the Author's Website


CATEGORY: Fairy Tales
Type: Novel (book 1 in a series)
Audience: 4th grade and up

After agreeing to kiss a talking frog, Princess Emma faces an unexpected turn of events when she herself becomes a frog. Together, Emma and Eadric (the frog she puckered up too) set out to find the witch who cast the spell that now holds both of them under its power. Of course, the world is a dangerous place, even for talking frogs, and to survive this journey Emma and Eadric will have to rely on each other.

Online Connections:

Author's website:

Disney version - The Princess and the Frog games

And ROYAL READ #3...

her great princess themed books:
The Paper Bag Princess by Robert Munsch (picture book)
Princess Smartypants by Babette Cole (picture book)
Once Upon a Cool Motorcycle Dude by Carol Heyer (picture book)
The Princess Academy by Shannon Hale (chapter book)
Lady Lollipop by Dick King-Smith (chapter book)

Fun and fractured versions of Cinderella:
Bubba the Cowboy Prince by Helen Ketteman (picture book)
Joe Cinders by Marianne Mitchell (picture book)
Fanny's Dream by Carolyn Buehner (picture book)
Cinder Edna by Ellen Jackson (picture book)
Bigfoot Cinderrrrella by Tony Johnston (picture book)
Cinderella Penguin by Janet Perlman (picture book)
Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine (chapter book)
Cinderellis and the Glass Hill by Gail Carson Levine (chapter book)
I Was a Rat by Philip Pullman (chapter book)

Friday, January 23, 2009

"Overdue" for an Update!

So it's true: even a librarian's blog site can be long "overdue" for an update!

And now, the update!

I have recently discovered some great books filled with adventure, mystery, suspense, and intrigue. Well-written, engaging, and fun, the following books (written by Trenton Lee Stewart) are definitely...
Royal Reads!

The Mysterious Benedict Society

CATEGORY: Adventure
TYPE: Novel

Upon their successful completion of several mind-bending tests, the main characters (Reynie, Stickie, Kate, and Constance) are brought together as students inThe Benedict Society. The Benedict Society is not for average children, it is for exceptionally gifted children (particularly these four children) who are called upon by founder, Nicholas Benedict, to carry out a secret mission at the Learning Institute for the Very Enlightened.

The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Perilious Journey

Category: Adventure
Type: Novel

After completing their secret mission at the Learning Institute for the Very Enlightened, the adventure continues for Reynie, Sticky, Kate, and Constance as they embark on a scavenger hunt arranged for them by Mr. Benedict.


The Mysterious Benedict Society official site

Book Discussion and Author Video

Kids' Read: Author Talk with Trenton Lee Stewart

Wednesday, July 23, 2008

The Sisters Grimm

TYPE: Novel

I have been captivated by this series since I read book 1!

This series of books centers around two sisters: Sabrina and Daphne Grimm. After their parents mysteriously disappear in book 1, their world is suddenly turned upside-down. When their grandmother (whom they have never even heard of) arrives to take them to live with her, the girls learn several strange things about their family:

  1. They are related to the famous Brothers Grimm, who collected the fairy tales we know and love.

  2. The fairy tales that they always thought were "stories" are actually the real histories of magical creatures and beings.

  3. Those magical creatures and beings happen to live in the same town, act as real people, and most are quite unfriendly to the Grimm family.

Each book is filled with mystery, magic, and adventure as the girls try to find their parents and learn more about their family's history.

Because each story builds upon the previous book, readers should definitely start with book 1 and read them in order.


KEYWORDS: fairy tales, magic, family, grandparents, siblings

Friday, June 13, 2008


Are you a fan of fantasy? Magic? Stories with good vs. evil? Then get to know the Fablehaven series by Brandon Mull. In Fablehaven, a whole new world awaits you!

Book 1: Fablehaven
by Brandon Mull

TYPE: Novel

Kendra and Seth spend the summer with their grandparents (caretakers of a preserve called Fablehaven) and soon discover that Fablehaven is not what it seems. The creatures dwelling in this preserve are creatures of light and dark (fairies, satyrs, witches, etc.) and it is the laws of magic that keep the magical world and the human world of Fablehaven in balance. When these laws are broken, the resulting consequences could very well destroy the structure on which Fablehaven is founded. It's up to Kendra and Seth to discover how they can make things right to return balance to Fablehaven and save their family.

Fablehaven website = http://www.fablehaven.com/
Author blog = http://www.brandonmull.com/blog/

KEYWORDS: magic, family, rules, grandparents, siblings


Book 2: Rise of the Evening Star

Book 3: Grip of the Shadow Plague

and coming in April 2009... Book 4: Secrets of the Dragon Sanctuary